Day 7: Tykocin, Lupochowo Forest and Treblinka

The group at Treblinka killing centre on their last day in Poland. From July 1942 through November 1943, the Germans killed between 870,000 and 925,000 Jews there.


 Sunday in my opinion was another one of those heavy days. We were shown the process of how the final solution was put into place as we started off with a visit to one of the Polish shtetls. Jewish life used to be so peaceful until the Germans invaded. The first stage we were shown was something that left the group shellshocked. We headed 3 kms outside the village to a mass grave site, and were told how fathers, mothers and babies were forced to undress, were mercilessly shot and fell into a bloody, reeking pit of corpses.  I said Kaddish again.

Now I know my writing may seem a bit straight forward with no creativity at all, but I cant describe that day with creativity, because there is just too much to process I guess. What I can say is that I really thought about my dad that day as I lit a candle for him at the site of a plain, torturous, revolting monster which we pray to Hashem that it will  never rise again: the gas chamber at Treblinka.

At least the terror is over. Now we have  gone from the darkness to the light as we have landed in the land of milk and honey- Eretz Yisrael!!!

-Dovi Lipshitz

Leave a comment